Each year, SAHM awards two visiting professorships to adolescent health professionals who have demonstrated excellence in their work and a commitment to advancing the field of adolescent health. Apply now to win a visit from one of them and help create a memorable educational experience for your entire staff.

  • 2018 Iris Litt Visiting Professor in Adolescent Health Research: Colette (Coco) Auserwald, MD, MS, FSAHM
  • 2018 Adele D. Hofmann Visiting Professor in Adolescent Medicine and Health: Leslie Walker-Harding, MD, FAAP, FSAHM

The winning program site will arrange a 2- to 4-day visit with their respective 2018 visiting professor award winners. The award for each visiting professor includes $1,500 of reimbursable travel expenses, with receipts, plus an honorarium. In the event that travel expenses exceed the allotted amount of $1,500, we ask that the host site cover the additional costs.

Site applications must be submitted to SAHM Headquarters by Friday, July 7, 2017. Applications can be submitted via email, by fax (+ 1-847-686-2251) or by mail to:

Attn: Caitlyn Gibson
Society for Adolescent Health and Medicine
One Parkview Plaza 
Suite 800
Oakbrook Terrace, IL 60181 USA

2018 Iris F. Litt Visiting Professorship in Adolescent Health Research

Colette (Coco) Auerswald, MD, MS, FSAHM 

The Iris F. Litt Visiting Professorship in Adolescent Health Research was established in 1995 and named in honor of Dr. Iris F. Litt for her substantial contributions to the field of adolescent health. The Visiting Professorship Program is intended to help clinical, research, policy and training programs that are currently engaged in clinical care of adolescents, research or policy to improve the research components to become better equipped to conduct adolescent health-focused research as well as to improve the ability of the researchers to successfully compete for funding a research program. Consultation from the visiting professor is not a substitution for an institution’s commitment to providing needed resources.

Colette (Coco) Auerswald, MD, MS, Associate Professor in the UC, Berkeley School of Public Health and Director UC Berkeley-UCSF Joint Medical Program. She is a pediatrician specializing in adolescent medicine and holds academic positions at both the both the Berkeley and San Francisco campuses of the University of California. Dr. Auerswald has been engaged in work to address the social determinants of the health of marginalized youth populations for over 20 years. She is a leader in mixed methods community-based research with marginalized populations and is a nationally recognized expert in the enumeration and characterization of homeless youth. Dr. Auerswald is a devoted mentor, an engaging teacher, and is committed to supporting research in low-resource settings around the world. Read Dr. Auerswald's full bio here

Download the application form to host Dr. Auerswald at your site

2018 Hofmann Visiting Professor in Adolescent Medicine and Health 

Leslie Walker-Harding, MD, FAAP, FSAHM

This prestigious award was established in 1986 with the first award being given in 1987. In 2003, the Visiting Professorship in Adolescent Medicine was renamed to honor Dr. Adele D. Hofmann for her lifelong commitment to the field of Adolescent Medicine and Health. The professorship is supported by a gift to the Society from Dr. Hofmann’s children, Annie Gardiner and Peter Hofmann. The Society for Adolescent Health and Medicine sponsors this annual event to provide an educational experience in adolescent medicine for a group of health care providers who may not otherwise have the opportunity to benefit from the professor’s expertise. Applications will be considered on the basis of the institution’s ability to provide a large local audience, preferably comprised primarily of professionals concerned with adolescent health. Special preference will be given to institutions and organizations that are committed to developing or maintaining educational, clinical or training relationships with community-based organizations. It is desirable for the applicant location to be affiliated with a residency training program so physicians-in-training can have exposure to the visiting professor. All candidates for this award are to be members of the Society for Adolescent Health and Medicine.
Dr. Leslie Walker- Harding is the recently named Chair of the Department of Pediatrics and pediatrician-in-chief at Penn State Health Milton S. Hershey Medical Center, and medical director of Penn State Children’s Hospital. Her research focuses on prevention of adolescent risk behaviors, including everything from substance absuse to ADHD to adolescent pregnancy. Equally as important to her are diversity and inclusion in the workforce of health providers. She is past president of SAHM and has served on numerous national boards. She appears regularly on local and national media outlets, speaking most recently on marijuana and its effects on youth. Read Dr. Walker-Harding's full bio here.   

More in this Section