Adele D. Hofmann Visiting Professorship in Adolescent Medicine and Health

Nominations for this award are now closed for 2020. 
SAHM will begin accepting Nominations for 2021 September 16-November 4, 2019

The Visiting Professorship in Adolescent Medicine and Health was named after Adele D. Hofmann in 2003 to honor her contributions to the field of adolescent medicine and health. During her 45-year career, she made profound contributions in such areas as: the legal rights of minors, teenage sexuality, adolescent behavior and the treatment of high-risk youth. 

The Society for Adolescent Health and Medicine offers this award to provide an educational experience in adolescent medicine to a group of healthcare providers who may not otherwise have the opportunity to benefit from the professor's expertise. The designated professor will spend 2-4 days at a selected institution, offering training, guidance or expertise to enhance the knowledge and skills of clinical or academic staff within the host institution.

CRITERIA: Candidates for the host site must be members of the Society for Adolescent Health and Medicine.  The recipient program or site will arrange a 2- to 4-day visit with the Professor at a mutually agreeable time during the year for which the award is given. Site applications will be considered on the basis of the institution’s ability to provide a large local audience, preferably comprised primarily of professionals concerned with adolescent health. Special preference will be given to institutions and organizations that are committed to developing or maintaining educational, clinical or training relationships with community-based organizations. It is desirable for the applicant location to be affiliated with a residency training program so physicians-in-training can have exposure to the visiting professor. 

SELECTION PROCESS: Nominations for both the Hofmann Visiting Professor and the host site are accepted from any current member of SAHM. The SAHM Awards: Service Sub-Committee is charged with selecting the Visiting Professor and host site.

 Download the 2021 Adele D. Hofmann Visiting Professor nomination form. 

More in this Section