Beyond the Basics:
Adolescent Medicine as a Tool for Social Justice


The Society for Adolescent Health and Medicine is excited to announce a virtual lecture series designed to complement the SAHM Adolescent Medicine Resident Curriculum

The series will address complex youth topics, racial justice and health disparities to help bring insight to our providers’ practice of care and our community’s effort in advancing health equity. Each installment will be delivered by SAHM experts and go beyond the fundamentals of adolescent health to address the underlying issues that create health disparities for adolescent patients. Participants will obtain actionable advice to improve critical skill areas among trainees and early-career professionals.

Each lecture will be one-hour and conclude with a Q&A period moderated by fellows engaged in the lecture’s topic area. Live sessions are free, pending registration, and will be recorded and posted below soon after the conclusion of the live session. 

Click on the name of a lecture to learn more: Each lecture will offer suggestions on managing complex conversations by exploring the following questions:  
  1. What do I need to know to deepen my understanding of this issue, before discussing it with adolescents and their families? 
  2. What type of questions can I ask to engage youth in a meaningful, supported dialogue?
  3. How do I respond to youth in a way that acknowledges their potential difficulties while effectively promoting resilience and health? 
The series curriculum was developed for trainees and early-career professionals, however, all SAHM members are encouraged to participate and further develop comfortability, confidence and knowledge when addressing the most critical needs for adolescent patients.  
 

Lecture Schedule 

Back to top

Young Men’s Health – A Social Justice perspective

Tuesday, October 27, 2020 – (10-11 a.m. PT); (11 a.m.- 12 p.m. MT); (12-1 p.m. CT); (1-2 p.m. ET)

David Bell, MD, MPH
Columbia School of Public Health

“Social justice is the view that everyone deserves equal economic, political and social rights and opportunities” (NASW) There is increasing awareness that our adolescent and young men deserve greater attention. From a health care perspective, young men decrease their involvement with primary care after the age of 15 years as a cohort. This presentation will discuss young men’s health from a social justice framework and how we can play a larger role in engagement.

Curriculum Module: Sexual and Reproductive Health

Complete the online registration form to receive Zoom access information to attend live session. A recording of this lecture will be posted shortly after the live session takes place.

Back to top


 

Addressing Racism in our Daily Interventions: Reclaiming the Right to Dream big for ALL! Part 1: Racism, Health and Structural Racism

Friday, October 30, 2020 – (10-11 a.m. PT); (11 a.m.-12 p.m. MT); (12-1 p.m. CT); (1-2 p.m. ET)

Maria Veronica Svetaz, MD, MPH, FAAFP, FSAHM    
Hennepin Family Care Whittier Clinic

Dr. Svetaz will discuss how racism affects health and what we can do to create a culture of health that supports our teens, their families, and communities to thrive. Dr. Svetaz will discuss different strategies to dismantle structures that affect growth and health at the system level (using the SAHM Position Paper: Racism and Its Harmful Effects on Nondominant Racial–Ethnic Youth and Youth-Serving Providers). 

Complete the online registration form to receive Zoom access information to attend live session. A recording of this lecture will be posted shortly after the live session takes place.
 

 

Obesity Management without Stigma 

Wednesday, November 11, 2020 - (8-9 a.m. PT); (9-10 a.m. MT); (10-11 a.m. CT); (11:00 a.m.- 12 p.m. ET)     

Sharonda Alston-Taylor, MD, FSAHM
Texas Children's Hospital

During the session, attendees will learn: 
  • How to counsel on obesity management in racial/ethnic/gender/sexual minority youth.
  • Understand how to manage obesity from a social justice perspective.
  • Address obesity management in supportive and effective manner.
Curriculum Module: Eating Disorders & Overweight/Obesity

Complete the online registration form to receive Zoom access information to attend live session. A recording of this lecture will be posted shortly after the live session takes place.
 


How to be Youth Friendly in Your Practice

Wednesday, November 18, 2020 – (10-11 a.m. PT); (11 a.m.- 12 p.m. MT); (12-1 p.m. CT); (1:00-2:00 p.m. ET)

Jenni Lane and Alana Otto, MD, MPH
University of Michigan

A description of this upcoming lecture will be posted shortly. 

Curriculum Module:

Complete the online registration form to receive Zoom access information to attend live session. A recording of this lecture will be posted shortly after the live session takes place.
 


 

Addressing Racism in our Daily Interventions: Reclaiming the Right to Dream big for ALL! Part 2: Racial and Political Socialization: Protecting youth from Internalized Racism

Monday, November 30, 2020 – (10-11 a.m. PT); (11 a.m.-12 p.m. MT); (12-1 p.m. CT); (1-2 p.m. ET)

Maria Veronica Svetaz, MD, MPH, FAAFP, FSAHM    
Hennepin Family Care Whittier Clinic

Dr. Svetaz will discuss ethnic-racial identity; she will coach providers on preventing the more toxic aspects of Racism: its internalization by youth. Dr. Svetaz will address what we can all do to shield our children and teens from that, and how to infuse critical consciousness through the racial and political socialization lens, both for teens and parents.

Complete the online registration form to receive Zoom access information to attend live session. A recording of this lecture will be posted shortly after the live session takes place.



Adolescent Confidentiality in the Digital Age 

Thursday, December 3, 2020 - (1-2 p.m. PT); (2-3 p.m. MT); (3-4 p.m. CT); (4-5 p.m. ET)

Ryan Pasternak, MD, MPH
LSU School of Medicine

Let’s Review the basics and then discuss Privacy Rules, Policies and Patient Portals using cases and comparisons to highlight areas of concern or opportunities. 

Curriculum Module: Consent and Confidentiality

Complete the online registration form to receive Zoom access information to attend live session. A recording of this lecture will be posted shortly after the live session takes place. 

 



Gender Affirmative Care Through a Social Justice Lens

Monday, December 7 – (12-1 p.m. PT); (1-2 p.m. MT); (2-3 p.m. CT); (3-4 p.m. ET)               

Johanna Olson, MD
Children's Hospital Los Angeles

Gender affirmative care for transgender and non-binary individuals does not reside solely within the domain of healthcare. Affirmation falls under the purview of medical, mental health, legal, justice system, educational and occupational services. The intersectionality of race, geographical location, political environment and accessible support systems and gender intensify the disparities faced by the community today. This workshop will illuminate the challenges across several domains faced by transgender and non-binary youth throughout history, and in the present. The aim is for participants to reframe gender affirmative care as a human rights issue, and emphasize the role of medical providers as advocates. 

Curriculum Module: Growth and Development

Complete the online registration form to receive Zoom access information to attend live session. A recording of this lecture will be posted shortly after the live session takes place. 
 


RECORDED LECTURES

 

Building on the Strengths of Youth Who Have Endured Hardships

Ken Ginsburg, MD, MEd, FSAHM
Children's Hospital of Philadelphia​

View session recording
A login is required to access this section of the website. Click here to create a free login. Already have a login and need to reset your password, visit here

This talk will introduce the essentials of delivering strength-based trauma-sensitive care and offer a few strategies to APPLY these principles in our work with youth. It will speak to the imperative of integrating the best of what is known from positive youth development, trauma-sensitive practices, and resilience-building strategies. Above all, it will discuss the imperative of creating safe, secure, and sustained adult relationships for young people. 

Curriculum Module: Routine Adolescent Care
 


“Do I really have a choice?”: Centering Reproductive Justice for Adolescents

Aisha Mays, MD
Director of Adolescent and School Based Programs
Roots Community Health Center

View session recording
A login is required to access this section of the website. Click here to create a free login. Already have a login and need to reset your password, visit here

Reproductive Justice(RJ) principles prioritize equity, access, and the right for individuals to have children, not to have children, and to parent their children is safe and healthy communities. Reproductive Justice tenets expand the reproductive rights framework to center  human rights and its application to reproductive health. In recent years, the reproductive health community has incorporated core RJ tenets as standard for providing equitable and ethical reproductive health care, yet, we often find that adolescents are excluded from this application.  
This talk will describe the principles of reproductive justice, highlight the importance of centering RJ principles when providing adolescent reproductive health care, and demonstrate how to incorporate reproductive justice standards into your clinical practice.

Curriculum Module: Sexual and Reproductive Health


Improving Depression Outcomes for Adolescents: Screening and Integrated Treatment in Primary Care

Laura Richardson, MD, MPH, FSAHM
Seattle Children's Hospital

View session recording
A login is required to access this section of the website. Click here to create a free login. Already have a login and need to reset your password, visit here

The USPSTF has recommended screening adolescents for depression since 2009 but many systems continue to struggle with implementing this recommendation. One of the biggest barriers to implementing screening has been limited access to high quality treatment. This presentation will review data related to depression screening and integrated care to improve outcomes for depression in medical settings and discuss strategies for helping clinicians and systems improve the quality of care that they provide.

Curriculum Module: Psychological and Behavioral Health  


Back to top

More in this Section